Is it my Age?


I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m just not that good of a blogger. I mean I do like writing post, even if no one reads them, I do have fun with this endeavor/thing/blog.

But sometimes I wonder…..

1. If I’m just not that into it anymore.

2. I don’t have a whole lot to say.

or

3. May it’s my age.

I don’t mind people knowing that I’m forty-four years young, really it’s never bothered me to get another year older.

I can honestly say that my life is so much better now than it was twenty years ago.

But…

I didn’t grow up in the cyber age. When I was a kid the net was something you had to catch fish and butterflies, the web was something a spider built and facebook would’ve meant a book with faces in it (not real faces pasted into a book that would’ve been creepy) but something such as a photo album.

A friend request was something done with a note or just asking someone to be friends with you.

I didn’t have to be told to go outside and get some playtime in the fresh air. Although I do remember my mom yelling louder and louder every time I didn’t respond to her request for me to “Get inside NOW it’s late!”.

Checking in was something you did at a hotel or event and you did it in person.

I had to go to a bookstore or library to get a book to read.

I could go on for a while but you get the picture I’m painting for you here.

So it circles back around to the question I asked myself today – Is my age getting in the way of my blogging?

I’m not sure yet but when I find the answer maybe I’ll post it here. 😉

Have a great week and for those if you who celebrate the Fourth of July holiday – Stay Safe and don’t blow anything up, set anything on fire, or get caught in the crossfire of a roman candle explosion. Have fun. 🙂

 

8 thoughts on “Is it my Age?

  1. Honestly blogging can feel like a huge commitment, and can certainly take up a lot of time/energy, so I’ve seen people of all ages and personality types lose interest or stamina. (Myself included!) Nothing to feel bad about. Just remember, it’s here if you want it, and no big deal if you don’t. 🙂

    • Kristan – “Just remember, it’s here if you want it, and no big deal if you don’t” – spot on comment. 🙂

      Thanks. 🙂

  2. There are plenty of us over-40 (or even older) types who blog and enjoy it. The question you should ask yourself is why you blog in the first place. If you enjoy it and it adds something to your life, keep going. It’s easy to get hurt or upset if you feel like you are being ignored, but it appears that at least two of us took the time to stop by and say hello. Maybe it’s worth the while after all?

    • Hi Dylan.

      It seems that I’ve been in a questioning/questing sort of mood lately.
      I started blogging as a way of getting myself to write everyday. I think the problem is that I’ve been putting too much pressure on myself to come up with really great posts. I always get a kick out of the fact that people read and comment on my posts, but I would still blog if I was the only who read my ramblings.

      Thanks for commenting it has helped me put some things in perspective.

  3. Hi Joelle, I hear you, sister! One of my New Year’s committments was to post on my blog once a week…yeah, that didn’t happen. Today, I was reading a prof journal–the entire issue was geared to teaching writing in the “cyber” classroom…I sat there on my patio, looked down at my journal and pen, and decided it’s a good thing I only have two more years to teach because I’m tired of Pinter-Face-Pad-ish, keep them “entertained” (read mind-numbed) nonsense. A friend yesterday had a long and serious conversation with me about buying a bracelet that sends your workouts and meal plan to your pad-laptop etc. I said, in all seriousness, why not just write it down?

    • Appreciation for writing with pen/pencil/marker/etc. paper seems to be dwindling. It may soon become a lost art that only old-timey types remember. 😉

      Mind-numbing is not good, not good at all, but I bet you have a few interesting tales from the Teacher’s point of view.

  4. Hey Joelle! I really enjoy reading your blogs and it looks like others do as well, but what I’m really waiting for is that book that you’ve been promising! I can’t wait to read that!! Maybe blogging has been a stepping stone to bigger and better things? 🙂

    • Hello there Pam!

      The book is nearing completion I had to completely re-write large sections of it since I changed a couple of major characters. I have to kick myself into high gear, quit editing as I write, and just git it done already. 😉 Fingers crossed for the end of August.

Comments are closed.