Reese Cups, Poetry and Quantum Things


Today I’d like to share some thoughts about a book I’m reading.

Product Details

Quantum Physics For Poets by Leon M. Lederman and Christopher T. Hill

Stay with me here, do not let the title scare you off. 🙂

It’s science with bits of poetry inside. Two great things together in the same place, sort of like Resse Cups.

I started reading it this weekend while I was a at a friend’s house and I’m so, so , so glad that he lends out his books. I was hooked right from the start. The title drew me in and the first sentence captured me.

“In the TV series Star Trek, and it’s subsequent derivatives, the starship Enterprise travels throughout intergalactic space.”

I mean any book that starts off with comparisons to Star Trek will hook me, reel me in, and have my rapt attention. I admit – I love the show. But more to the point (that I think I was going to make) is that when a book (fiction or not) starts off with something I can relate to, then I’m usually in it for the ride to the end.

The book talks about what is known about science today, in-particularly quantum physics, compared to what was known in the early 20th century and prior centuries.  The amazing journey that early thinkers went on in order to learn is great. And the learning continues today.

It’s written so that anyone can read it and understand it. You don’t have to have a degree in science, physics, or quantum physics in order to get it. 

I’m only on chapter two but I think I’m in love with this book. It’s one I’d like to own so I can reference back to it while I’m finishing my novel. The writing in Quantum Physics For Poets really opened a floodgate of creativity in me. 

I wish this book was around when I was in school because I may have brought it in and waved it around in class while yelling, “See! This is what I’m talking about. This book has the answers I’m looking for!” But then that would’ve caused more trouble. But I digress….

If you like non-fiction, science, science fiction, and poetry then I highly recommend that you get this book. It makes you think.

Have a great Monday and may you see something that lights a spark in you.

3 thoughts on “Reese Cups, Poetry and Quantum Things

Comments are closed.