Stomping the Inner Critic


I admit that there are times when my Inner Critic goes into overdrive and tries to kill my creativity. And I equally admit that sometimes I just roll over and let it happen. That way I have an excuse as to why I didn’t do anything creative. That was then (in a not that long ago time sense of things). Now when I feel the inner critic poking around and trying to bring me down, I try to reason with It and if that doesn’t work I stomp on It.

Sometimes literally. Really. Not joking here. I go for a walk either outside or on the treadmill in the fitness room (of the apt complex). It’s working quite well.

Sometimes the inner critic would jump up and down screaming that I’m not perfect so how dare I try to be creative (in anything). Harsh little bugger It is. Speaking of perfection you should check out Alicia Mckenna Johnson’s blog post from yesterday.

Anyway…..

The inner critic (no more caps for you) can be insidious as well. Whispering little things like, “do you really think you can do that?”, or “Why do you think you are good enough to do this?” And while it still says those things. I just stomp it out before it has a chance to take root and grow into a garden of pessimism.

Okay I’m done rambling for today.

It’s your turn. How do silence the inner critic? 

