Simply Short


The rough beginning of a new one….

The pieces were found on the hillside next to highway 81. It was the sunlight reflecting off of the pilot’s window that caught our attention.  But even from the vantage point of 600 feet off of the ground, I couldn’t see all of it.

Once that first section was found I radioed the ground search team to converge on the area. It seemed impossible that anyone would have survived, but we had to keep searching.

The next piece that was located was a large portion of the main cabin. It still had the wheel chair strapped into the handicap section, although no one was in it. Secretly I was glad we didn’t find the person that was had been in that seat.  Finding bodies face down in the dirt is one thing, but to find a body still in it’s seat with that look of terror etched on their face, well that’s something I just don’t want to see again.

The search teams were starting to radio in about finding the rest of flight 469. The 767 took off from Carlson Airport 2 days ago and then disappeared from radar screens 2.5 hours after. There were no 911 calls reporting a crash, nothing on the internet, no cell phone videos,

 

I have a few more paragraphs written but I’m not entirely sure where it’s going yet. I’ll update as I write this one.

Have a great Wednesday. 🙂

