Language of the Creative Mind


Sometimes I feel as if my creative mind speaks a foreign language.

Seriously.

I get images, glimpses, and feelings about what I want to write into my stories. And it can be challenging to then interpret those things into words.

Hmmm…inventing an image to word translator. That could be a useful thing.  No, not going down that road right now. It would fun and interesting but the digression would not be conducive to this post. (or something like that)

Anyway…………..

At times I feel like it would easier if I could think in words. Then perhaps the words would flow easier onto the pages and then the whole project would flow easier to the finish line.

Easier – maybe. Better? I don’t believe so.

The images are full of details, colors, and feelings. Words can convey those things, but they don’t necessarily have the same impact.

So I guess know then that that is the real challenge as a writer (for me anyway), to take the image and translate it into readable, feel-able words. Searching out the words to best convey the images that the creative mind spews forth, yes, that is my job as a writer of creative things/stories/images/feelings.

Well, you get the picture.  🙂

So rock on with the images, my creative mind and I’ll do my best to translate them into words for the world to read.

The end of post #2 for 2012.

How do you figure out what to write, draw, or create? Does your creative mind send images, feelings, or words? 

2 thoughts on “Language of the Creative Mind

  1. I understand- I’m the description whore of my critique group they’re always thinning out my description words- really Alica do you need 10 color words on this one page? Do we need to know what the hotel room looks like? But it’s there in my head so I vomit it out onto the page and thin later- but doesn’t everyone want to now everything?

Comments are closed.