Writing Upside Down and Backwards


I must finish, I must finish, I must finish…………

That has become my new mantra. The chant going round in circles and triangles in my writer’s mind. I must finish.

Perhaps I’m working on too many projects at one time. I do rotate between them  – a lot. Perhaps I should choose one, just one to work on until completion.

I’m starting to think that maybe I like the writing more than the finishing. That perhaps it’s that I don’t want the story to conclude. Maybe I have a case of Enditis. Yeah I think that’s it.

I like writing the story so much that I just don’t want it to end. I’ll have to work on it from that pov and see where I end (lol) up.

No tricks though. No telling myself to do it one way in order to trick the brain into finishing the story. I’d just get caught up in defining and perfecting the trick. That would so defeat the purpose of it.

AHA!

My apologies for yelling out in the middle of the post but I think I hit on something here. Perfection. I’m trying to make the stories perfect so they can end in a perfect way.

I know logically there is no such thing as perfection, but my writer’s brain is caught up in a hazy maze of thinking that there is such a thing. Okay, so now that I know…what am I going to do about it.

Hmmm……

Writing backwards may be a good thing to do. I’ll write (rewrite) the whole thing starting from where it ends. You see I actually wrote notes on the ending it was just getting there that was ensnared in a web.

So backwards. The end to the beginning.

I like this train of thought. I’m going with it.

So a question for those of you who reading this hazy maze post —

What can you do different today that will affect a positive change in your life?

(bet you didn’t see that question coming.)    🙂

6 thoughts on “Writing Upside Down and Backwards

  1. Now THAT is a great question. One I think I need to ponder for a while. And not just today either.

    As for finishing, yes, I think it’s very important for writers to “cultivate a habit of finishing,” as YA author Laini Taylor puts it. That’s something I struggle with as well — not because I don’t *want* a story to end, but because I lose steam partway through. Some writers describe a point where things turn, where they crest the peak and it’s a “quick downhill run” from there. Not so for me. For me, it’s a slow, steady march the entire way. It’s not so bad, but it’s not terribly exciting either. 😛

    Speaking of which, I need to get back to my march. On on on to the end. 😉

    • I like that – “cultivate a habit of finishing”. Has a better feel then – I must finish…..

      Slow and steady wins the race. I think I heard/read that somewhere. 🙂

      {Raising a mug of tea} – here’s to finishing.

  2. Finishing is a really hard thing! I noticed that myself. It felt so unreal to write the last events of my novel. I didn’t want to finish it and I really struggled to actually sit down and force myself to get it out of the way. Once the last dot came into place there was such relief that I can’t even begin to describe.
    But rotating projects can be a good thing. It gives you perspective on everything you are working on 🙂

  3. My thought about my own failing to finish is that I hate for the characters to go away and also that I run out of steam. I was pondering this today as I pulled out my Nano book to begin the editing process. (I have a New Year promise with a writing friend that we will exchange chunks of our Nano crap each month for commentary.)

    So I made two New Year’s Year “resolutions” regarding writing,
    One, post to my WordPress blog at least once each week.
    Two, work on finishing both Gryphon and Clockwork Bees this calendar year.

Comments are closed.