Looking Back To Look Up


Another year has passed and I’m sort of taking stock of where I am in life and where I’m going. Checking the path ahead is not so easy as the future is too mutable to be known in any kind of completeness.

But looking back is easy, although sometimes what you see, hear, feel and experience can be hard.

I’m talking about seeing where you’ve been, how you got yourself there, and the whys. Yet not in a regretful way.

Regrets are a waste of energy and serve no purpose other than to drag yourself (esteem) down into the wastelands of negativity.

Seeing where I’ve been this past year (from one birthday to the next) gives me a chance to look again at my choices and see where I could’ve made better ones. Yeah, I know it’s the whole hindsight thing but bear with me here.

Looking back I can see that I wasn’t being true to myself and my vision of where I want to go in life.

I know that life throws in stones, pebbles, boulders and mountains into the best thought out plans, but I believe they get thrown in when you lose your way. By not being truthful with the one person that matters most in life. Myself. Yourself. Ourselves.

I have to consider myself first in my life. I know this sounds selfish but really think about it. If you do not take care of yourself first, then who is going to take care of those in your life that depend on you?

Looking back I can see how I kept myself in the dark by not acknowledging things that I needed and (gasp) wanted. Believe it or not – wants are not bad things. I suppose wanting can be self-destructive at times but in general wants keep us moving in a forward direction. Wants = goals – at least for me they do.

So anyway….

Looking back is a way for me to get myself back on track to where I want to go from this day forward.

Looking back allows me to see the patterns (for good or bad) that led me to where I am right now, here, in this moment. I can then decide if I want to keep these patterns or create new ones.

The choice is mine. No one can choose for me on this sort of thing.

What choices are you making today that will help you?

4 thoughts on “Looking Back To Look Up

  1. Joelle, I could not agree more. It took me a long time to realize that wanting things for myself wasn’t selfish; it’s just human. And that working towards those goals isn’t impractical; it’s necessary. We can waste our lives living the paths prescribed by society, or we can pursue our dreams and passions (whatever they may be) and encourage those around us to do the same. I know which world looks more appealing to me.

  2. Yes, we all need to stop every now and again to orient ourself to see where we are in our life and which path we should keep walking. I agree with you. Wants are goals and they are good things. They keep us going when we could just sit down and enjoy a relaxing life until the reaper comes.

    • 🙂 I love reorienting myself on a yearly basis. I completely agree with “They keep us going when we could just sit down and enjoy a relaxing life until the reaper comes.”

Comments are closed.