Excerptional Thursday


An excerpt from a short story I’m working on.

“We were lucky, we fled as soon daylight struck the first angry face. Fled and left behind anything that we couldn’t carry out to the car. Photos, paper memories, birthday cards and birth scrapbooks, all of it left behind in the rush of survival. Adrenaline burning through my veins and fear screaming through my chest, even red bull couldn’t have given me a better set of wings, I ran to the car. Then we drove away, left everything familiar behind us.”

 

What are you working on this week? Any special holiday projects?

Have a great day!

We were lucky, we fled as soon daylight struck the first angry face. Fled and left behind anything that we couldn’t carry out to the car. Photos, paper memories, birthday cards and birth scrapbooks, all of it left behind in the rush of survival. Adrenaline burning through my veins and fear screaming through my chest, even red bull couldn’t have given me a better set of wings, I ran to the car. Then we drove away, left everything familiar behind us.

2 thoughts on “Excerptional Thursday

  1. Love that paragraph! The first line is so striking: daylight on an angry face. Just 2 nitpicks: don’t think you need “birth” in front of “scrapbooks,” and the Red Bull line felt too pop culture. But this is a story I’m curious about now!

Comments are closed.