Okay, so what if I don’t hit the mark at Nanowrimo this year?


I’ve been asking myself this question a lot lately. It’s not as if I get paid for it, have to do it, or can’t write unless I do it in a frenzied way. And really my world will still be intact if I don’t do it.

So…

Why…

Am…

I….

Stressing myself so flippin’ much about it?

Answer:

I. Don’t. Know.

Really, I’m not sure why I’m putting so much pressure on myself to hit the 50,000 word mark. Maybe I’m just not into nanowrimo this year. And that – I’m realizing – is fine.

As long as I have my own goal for writing and I meet that goal than, I’m good.

Another answer is that I think it’s like a Thanksgiving dinner situation. I’ve put too much on my plate and there is no way I can effectively finish all of it without feeling stressed in some way. Of course at dinner it would be my pants feeling the stress, but I think you figured that out already. 😉

Think with your heart, understand with your mind and remember to play like your five again.  Have a great day.

2 thoughts on “Okay, so what if I don’t hit the mark at Nanowrimo this year?

  1. Yep, NaNo can be a great tool, but it can also be a stressor. As with all things creative, remember to forgive yourself, and have fun. I really believe the rest will follow.

Comments are closed.