The Experiment of WOTE


WOTE = Write One Thing Everyday.

A writing experiment for myself (aside from the whole nanowrimo thing lol) writing one thing everyday means to handwrite something. Write in a journal/notebook/, on a napkin, envelope, back of your hand…etc.

I found myself losing focus while writing. My mind skipping ahead to chapter two even though I was still typing chapter one. So I thought I’d try something to help me slow and just breathe for a minute before writing.

Here’s what I’m doing:

1. Getting back morning Meditations and a kind of meditating through movement in the afternoons.

2. Easing back on the coffee.

3. Walking more outside, not on a treadmill.

4. Writing in a journal before slamming away on the keyboard.

Simple things that so far have been good for me. I’ve only been at it for about three days (not counting the weekend because I’m only doing this M-F) though so it’s probably too early on to decide anything definite. lol

Now if I can only get the one thing to be about the nanowrimo work in progress…….

What method do you use for focusing?

4 thoughts on “The Experiment of WOTE

  1. I write two posts every day: one is a six word story, one is a three sentence story. These everydays are short enough that I can always manage them, despite the whims of the world. Good luck…this is a worthy experiment. Robin

  2. Hi! Just found your blog via Kristan’s and had to tell you how much I love the idea of handwriting at least one thing every day. It’s so easy (and fun!) to get swept up in writing our novels, but sometimes typing just isn’t the same. I keep a handwritten journal for all my story ideas/brainstorming/arcs and find that something as simple as color-coding it according to character makes such a difference.

    Best of luck with NaNo!

    • Hi Shari! Thanks for following the breadcrumbs that led you here. 🙂 Yes it is very easy to get caught up within the typing. Sometimes too easy. lol. I hadn’t thought of color coding with the handwritten items. 🙂

Comments are closed.