NaNoWriMo – At the Starting Gate!


NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month. That month is November and the way you participate is to write a novel (50,000 words or more) in November. You can officially participate by going to the website and registering – nanowrimo.org.

 

Neutral_180_180_white

Once you register, you post info about yourself, your novel and your daily word count. Then you can chat with others on the site about writing a novel in a 30 day time frame. There are pep talks, regional listings of other writers, local event listings and a lot more.

It may seem a bit nutty, crazy, insane or out -of-your-mind, to even fathom of doing something like writing a novel in 30 days. However, it’s doable. You break it down into word count by week, day, and hour. At least I do that particular chart for myself. Makes it look easier that way. Mind games with my writer’s brain. 🙂

I have prepped for it this year. My notes are ready, summaries, character lists, setting areas, etc. I plotted and outlined too. Which is a really odd thing for me to do. Usually I’m a pantser when it comes to writing. That is  – I write by the seat of my pants – no notes or outlines just winging it.

I plan on having a daily post about where I am in the novel, word count, and other such nanowrimo items. I’m also posting a photo here on a weekly basis. Something that catches my eye or creative side. I’ll still post about the odd things that cross through my mind so it’s set to be a very eclectic month here at Chasing Moonlight.

Let me know if you’re joining in the frenetic frenzy of fun, we can encourage each other in the process.

Have a great evening. 🙂

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo – At the Starting Gate!

    • Thanks 🙂 I’m sort of experimenting this year. Pushing myself to finish the work without the inner critic nagging at me to fix it first than move on and I’m using an outline with this particular novel. Good luck to you too. 🙂

Comments are closed.