Samhain part two – The Veil Lifts A Little Higher


Okay so I’ve been researching Samhain at various sites but I still need to research more before I can write a full article (or mini series) about the history of the holiday.

The short list of what I have gleaned so far is:

1. It’s a time of celebration. (Stating the obvious with this item).

2. It’s not about sacrifices, blood feasts, severed limbs, or intense gore.

3. The masks were worn to ward off negative energies so that the celebration wouldn’t be ruined.

4. It was a time of harvesting the crops and animals in preparation for the winter months when food is scarce. This was especially true in the northern regions where the winter would be the harshest.

5. The roots of Samhain are pagan in origin. It was another holiday that christian leaders took over in order to convert the so-called ‘heathens’.

A short list that will be expanded as I go into heavy-duty research mode for the rest of this month. I think I’ll get to a library or two and look up information the old-fashioned way.

What are your perceptions of the Samhain. Halloween. holiday?

4 thoughts on “Samhain part two – The Veil Lifts A Little Higher

  1. Erm, haha, this is unrelated to your post, but I LOVE the header image I got today! It’s an orangey pink sunset sky with some parking lot lights (or something) on the horizon. Really lovely!

    #5 is really all I remember about my own Samhain/Halloween research. (I went through a witch phase in high school. :P) But always, my favorite thing about Halloween has been the costumes. I love seeing everyone — the little kids especially — all dressed up and running about in excitement.

    (That joy faltered a bit in college, where every costume was either Toolbag ___ for the guys, or Slutty ___ for the girls.)

    • 🙂 Thanks! I captured that sunset in a Kroger parking lot.

      I’m in a “The truth is out there” frame of mind lately. lol. The little kids dressed are sooo cute. And yeah – the adult costumes are still – umm – trashy (in my opinion), or just plain gory.

  2. Hmm I always enjoyed the pumpkin carving, and the getting dressed in costume! I always looked forward to Halloween as a day where you could be whatever you wanted. However, on the following morning (November 1) rain or shine, my parents always visit the graves of our family members (All Saints Day/All Hallows).

    • I’ve used those stencil kits to try a fancy kind of design…really didn’t work out the best. I still use stencils but I go for the less detailed ones now. lol
      Dressing up is fun. I remember a few years back I wore one of those invisible mask things (it blacked out my face) to take my son around the neighborhood and I wound up scaring some people by saying hello to them. They thought I was part of someone’s yard decorations. lolol.

      Family traditions are a wonderful way to acknowledge and celebrate the holiday.

Comments are closed.