Creeping, Crawling, Little Things


I chose a poem for my first Friday Creepiness post.  It was fun to write and I think I’m going to tweak it a bit more before tomorrow night. I’m going to do a public reading of this poem and a couple of other ones at a local open mic event.

In My Town Tonight – 9-20-2011

Creeping

crawling

flying things,

with red rimmed eyes

and leather wings

have descended

here,

upon my town tonight.

 

Threatening

life and limb

soul and breath

stealing light

and singing death

here,

upon my town tonight.

 

Licking lips

and howling

songs,

scraping all

into a throng

to feast

here,

upon my town tonight.

 

We fight

and struggle

scream and curse

but those creatures

laughed as we did

our worst to

hurt them in

my town tonight.

 

In the end

I’m left lying

streaks of crimson

in the dirt

they left as

I am dying

here,

in my now quiet

town tonight.

 

