Imago of Death – Second Writing Campaign Challenge


The second campaign challenge is here and it looks more challenging than the first, which is good – I think. I had to stretch my writing muscles for this one.

My entry follows the rules you can scroll down if you aren’t participating, know the challenge, or you just want to get to the writing.

 

The Challenge is: Write a blog post in 200 words or less, excluding the title. It can be in any format, whether flash fiction, non-fiction, humorous blog musings, poem, etc.

The blog post should:

include the word “imago” in the title

include the following 4 random words: “miasma,” “lacuna,” “oscitate,” “synchronicity,”

 

If you want to give yourself an added challenge (optional and included in the word count), make reference to a mirror in your post.

For those who want an even greater challenge (optional), make your post 200 words EXACTLY!

Imago Of Death

The dead crawled out from the lacuna that opened from the synchronicity of breaking the mirrors. I told the others not to break them,  it felt wrong. They listened to the elders instead of the seers. Afraid of doing something different, now we’re all screwed.

When those dead things oscitate, the miasma that spews out of their gaping maws choke the life energy from everything it touches. Those green tendrils seek out life and I’m not staying here to watch it happen.

There is a door to another realm. I saw the updates about it, couldn’t miss the trending on twitter about that door. The reports said it’s a mirror in the middle of Harken Lake. I normally don’t go for diving into deep, unknown water but tonight I’m making an exception.

Legs are aching from running; lungs feeling like there isn’t enough clean air left to breathe. I can see the lake shimmering in the moonlight. I’m going to make it. The sign says one hundred feet to the lake. But what is that gathering on the shoreline?

No! How did they get here so fast?  I can’t make it. I take a deep breath and succumb to death.

If you like it you can always vote for me. I’m number 131.  🙂 And if you participated in the challenge leave a link with your comment so I can read yours too. 🙂

Definitions: 

Miasma – Vaporous exhalation that was thought to cause disease.

Oscitate – To gape or yawn.

Lacuna – Blank space or missing part.

Synchronicity – Coincidental occurring of events.

Imago – Idealized image of another person or self.

40 thoughts on “Imago of Death – Second Writing Campaign Challenge

  1. Joelle,

    I loved your mixing of genres here. I didn’t expect knowledge of the portal to have been spread via Twitter, but I loved that concept so much — it really brings forth a comparison between our world and one where fantastic things happen!

    • Thank you 🙂 It was a good challenge for my writing brain. Today is a reading day so I’ll be commenting on your blog soon. Thanks for reading and commenting.

  2. Really liked this. Loved the modern twist by adding the Twitter reference. Great job! (I’m #17 – for some reason I can only ever comment on these with twitter… lol A coincidence? I think not!)

  3. Wow. This reads like horror, fantasy, and sci-fi all at once. At least to me. Very interesting. I want to know more about these creatures and what the mirror has to do with them.

    Great job, Joelle! 🙂

    • 🙂 Thank You. I had a lot of fun writing it so I’m considering continuing this one. Hmm maybe a serial kind of thing on the blog. I’m glad you enjoyed reading it.

  4. Good job with the challenge. It was intriguing. I love how we all chose different definitions of the same words. 🙂 Of course, that’s what makes this challenge fun.

    • Thank you. 🙂 Agree completely that the different meanings of the words made this challenge a lot of fun. Love that I learned a few new words with this one.

  5. good story! interesting take on the story. just, with the black background and black letters, it’s kinda hard to read. I had to highlight it to make anything out.

    • 🙂 Twitter is too much fun to not include. And I wanted a different way of info getting out about the doorway. Just commented on yours too. Very fun.

  6. This was interesting to read. I like the mention of tiwtter too. Love the title of your blog, how did you think up ‘Chasing moonlight’?

    • 🙂 Glad you enjoyed my bit-o-death. Twitter is the happening place right now and I figured it would be the best way to get info out to a lot of people all at once. Plus it was on my mind from being on twitter a lot the other day – perhaps too much. 😉 I chose Chasing Moonlight for my blog title because I write at night. Always chasing moonlight to get the next chapter done.

      *Not sure why your comment was sent to spam folder. Thanks for letting me know and I’m going to check the spam folder on a regular basis now. *

    • Not sure yet if she made it through. I’ve been working on it a little bit since I posted and it may turn into a serial post here. 🙂

  7. Oh, I couldn’t read fast enough. I really like this and love that you snuck in a reference to Twitter.

    My entry is #144 if you want to stop by.

  8. Hey, saw your tweet and came here to read. I’m such a twit I went back to twitter to see if there was any kind of door trending. Well, mixing fantasy and reality, you never know. What would happen if all campaigners put a door in their tweets? That’s it for me. I’m dead in the water. I’m number 52. If you go to read, there’s a tab with a chocolate contest for followers.

    • 🙂 Thanks for following the breadcrumbs to my blog. Well you never know what oddities and curiosities will be trending next on Twitter 🙂 And doors can lead to such unexpected places (Just ask Alice). Glad you enjoyed my writing. Following to your story next.

  9. I love it every time anything dead crawls out of something. You can’t help but have a great story. 🙂 Good job. I’m 125.

    • 🙂 Thanks for reading. I agree. The dead rock. Not that I want them crawling towards me, around me, or beside me. Crawling over to check out your story.

  10. Wow, what a first line! So interesting, and fun to include Twitter. Loving this challenge and all the creative ways people are using so damn words! I’m # 133.

    • 🙂 Thanks. The twitter reference is getting a lot comments. I would say it’s trending (okay that was kind of bad). I really like the different definitions of the words and how that are showing up in the different stories.

Comments are closed.