Would You Still Write If No One Was Reading?


This thought came to me yesterday. If no one was ever going to read anything that I wrote, would I still want to write?

The answer is a resounding, unequivocal – Yes. I write because it is in my soul to write. Of course having others read my writing is a definite perk. I love it when a beta reader finishes the latest chapter (s) and asks, “Can I have some more please?” If I can hook the betas then I know I’m on the right track. They are the most critical of my writing.

If I couldn’t write, well hmm, I know I’d still be able to live but life would feel less. Writing is my heart, my passion, my art. I can always share my feelings, thoughts, my awareness of who I am through my words.

Writing is easy. It really is, no doubts. Writing so that someone will pay to read what you have written is hard. You have to convey your thoughts, emotions, images and passion in words that others will understand. Putting all of your art into or rather onto the page. Word by word, line by line the pages build into a story. Your story.

You then have to go over your work to edit, smooth, caress and shape it into a story that will grab the attention of those who read. You put your words out into the world and hope they find a home in the minds of those who read so that your writing will become immortal.

But even before that you have to grab the attention of an agent who will want to work with you and get your words out there in the world. The agent then must snag the vision of a publisher and show that your work is great, make the publisher want nay, make them need to publish your words.

The publisher must have the confidence in your passion flowing from your soul to the page so that they are able to place your books in bookstores. That’s when the money game comes into play (yeah it probably comes in sooner but..), everyone involved wants to have a return on your art. It really is a business.

Then after that line of thinking I ask myself, “Really, why do am I doing this again?”

The answer:

Because that is who I am. A writer. Plain and simple. One word sums up my inner-most self – Writer. Above all else that I do or have done, I am a write. And I write because my soul begs for the release that writing brings.

Words dance across the pages, they play inside the wilds of my heart and I long to share them with the world. For good or bad, better or worse, ups and downs, I long to share myself with the world. Whispering dreams, raging oceans, streams of words find their way from this writer’s brain onto the pages because they have to get there.

These are things I think about, this is who I am.

Who are you?

8 thoughts on “Would You Still Write If No One Was Reading?

  1. Apparently I am you. πŸ˜‰

    Well said, Joelle. This perfectly encapsulates what I think most of us Writers feel.

  2. We are totally on the same wavelength today! I posted about my passion for writing too.

    I would hope that I’d keep writing even if no one ever read it, especially since I started out writing just for myself. If nothing else I’ll keep trying.

    “Words dance across the pages, they play inside the wilds of my heart and I long to share them with the world.” Love!!!

    • I just read (and commented) on your blog. Love how the same writer passion vibe tickles our fingers to write about the same things at times.

  3. I’m with you on this one. Writing is an essential part of who I am. I’ve gone through years where I did not write, and I didn’t feel like myself (if that makes sense). I figure I might as well try getting published, because I’m writing anyway, but that’s the cherry on top. I will continue writing no matter what. Thank you for putting this into words πŸ™‚

    • Not feeling right when not writing – completely makes sense. Thank you for the comment –” I figure I might as well try getting published, because I’m writing anyway” thinking of it (getting published) in this way, relaxed my nerves about trying. I have to say that I was excited about my first comment on my blog from someone I don’t know. πŸ™‚

  4. I wish I had you guy’s drive. I have to force myself to write.

    • Instead of forcing maybe you could use a reward system. Like – if you get x amount of pages or words written then you can go do y. Just a thought. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.