Reading Reader Reviews


I love to read reviews of books that have been read by the people who buy them.  In other words, reader reviews. It helps to see just what readers are looking for in a good great story.

I don’t read through all reviews of the published books that are in the genre I write in, I skim through them. I read the good, the bad, the nasty, and the over-the-top-with-the-praise ones. I look at what has been traditionally published and e-published. It gives me an insight into the reader’s mind.

Yes, I do read. I read a lot. Maybe too much sometimes. anyway the point is that I know what I like in a story but it is good to know what my potential readers like as well. I have been influenced to try new authors based on reader reviews. Sometimes it worked out and sometimes not so much.

I know you can’t please everyone and I’m not trying to do that, honestly I’m not. I’m the only one I can ever really please with my writing. But I’d like to think that my writing can bring does bring enjoyment to those who have read what I have written.

Anyway……..

What books have you read lately that you would recommend to friends?

2 thoughts on “Reading Reader Reviews

  1. Nowadays I almost always read reviews before I buy anything. It’s like, why not? Yes it takes time, but it also arms you with information so you can make a better decision for yourself.

    I have recently loved The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde, which is like a literary comedy mystery. Also, Lips Touch by Laini Taylor, which is magical and weird and beautiful. I think you might like it!

Comments are closed.