Pixie POV


So as a photographer I like to get a different perspective when taking photos. I get down on the ground and try for that what if I was only 4 inches tall perspective. I find that this kind of thinking helps me take better pictures no matter how tall I am on that particular day.  Close ups of flowers with the camera lens pointed up so I get the sky in the background. The straight up view of a tree, a violet, or even just plain green grass. Makes me feel small and that the world is not so small after all.  I  see things that I  may have missed the first time around.

And so it is with writing, at least with my writing this holds true. I will usually write the same scene from a few different character point of views. Or change the POV I was writing in just to see if there were any important details that I may have missed. It always works. I always seem to uncover some detail that had eluded the first time through. Kind of like an Easter egg hunt. The kind where you are looking for the plastic eggs filled with some tiny treasure. That’s how those little details feel to me – tiny little treasures.

Those details, though tiny, have a big impact on the overall story. So every once in a while you have to not only stop and smell the roses (or any other flower), but you need to look at it from a different perspective and see what may have been missed.

Write On.

big world pov

2 thoughts on “Pixie POV

  1. “I will usually write the same scene from a few different character point of views. Or change the POV I was writing in just to see if there were any important details that I may have missed.”

    I think those are great exercises!

  2. Hey, so I blogged something similar today…having to do with inspiration. Love how you compare details to “tiny little treasures.” yeah, they are!

Comments are closed.