Innocent Darkness


I love it when I have days like yesterday and this one today. Occasionally when I go out to the grocery store during the day I find that the trip was well worth it. Besides getting food that fuels my body, I saw something that fueled another chapter/idea for the simmering book. I saw a large vinyl type of tarp lying crumpled around something at the entrance to an apartment complex.

It was off to the side of the entrance road next to the utility box. So in my mind it goes something like; “In today’s local news a body was found loosely wrapped in a white tarp at the entrance to Swan Crossing Apartments (name was changed for the story). Officials have yet to make a positive identification as the fingers on both hands were missing. The face was also injured beyond recognition. The person had no ID on him and there have been no missing reports filed yet.” Innocent tarp covering some type of repair work or construction bleeds into a murder.

And then today at the local convenient store I saw an innocent looking puddle of some generic red liquid. But my mind spins it into – Puddle of blood in the parking lot has local police baffled as there is no body or other blood trail(s) to indicate where a body or injured person may be.

So then I started to wonder if I will ever be able to see things that really are just as they are?

I sincerely hope that never happens. I love the way my mind spins, twists and warps the normal everyday world into darkness, shadows and dark humor. Everyone has their space they write from and apparently my space is the shadows that lie just between light and dark. Hmm that reminds me of the old television show “Tales From The Darkside” that I grew up watching. Go figure that the shadows are where I play.

But really I am a nice person.

Write On.

2 thoughts on “Innocent Darkness

  1. “So then I started to wonder if I will ever be able to see things that really are just as they are?

    I sincerely hope that never happens.”

    Me too! 🙂

    PS: YOU DID NOT TELL ME YOU HAD A BLOG.

  2. OKAY LADY, I read a bunch of old posts, and HOW COULD YOU QUOTE PRACTICAL MAGIC AND THEN NOT LET ME COMMENT ON IT?!?!?!

    😥

    It’s one of my fave movies too. I would love to write a book like that. Someday, someday.

Comments are closed.