I think therefore I think some more


I’m already thinking of November. More specifically the NANOWRIMO contest that starts in November. Yeah I realize it is way too early in the year to start the wheels turning, but I can’t help it today. My mind seems to be moving faster than normal and I’m thinking of all the things that I want to accomplish this year. I chalked it up to the fact that it is nearly May 2010. And that really gets me thinking.

It seems really odd to say 2010 for the year. I mean where are all the technological advances I was promised in my youth. The flying cars, the teleportation booths to zap you from here to there, the space tours to Saturn and so on, so on, so on.  I told you my mind is zipping along today.  But really the movies, TV shows and books I read all had me looking forward to all of those devices and more. Okay well that I guess is just the ignorance of youth thinking that it would actually happen.

Then I started to think about my 3-year-old nephew, 5 month old niece and thought “Will they even know what a house phone is or a VHS player, non-paid for television programs, toys that do not require batteries, what a record or record player is” Then I realized that my own son, who is 17 yo, has not had the experience of using a phone that has a cord connected to a wall. We always had a cordless phone and now just cell phones.

So I guess technology really has advanced quite a bit since I was little kid, but I’m still waiting for the flying cars and space tours. I’ll just think about them, or maybe write about them, or……..

Write On

One thought on “I think therefore I think some more

  1. LOL to your title. And nope, the little ones will have no idea what VHS is. I mean, there are people my age who don’t know what record players are/look like! It’s crazy. And it makes me wonder what we WILL get to see in our day, even though yeah, the flying cars never happened.

Comments are closed.