Outline – the dreaded outline


Okay so I have tried to outline my novel. I tried outlining the entire novel. I tried outlining it chapter by chapter. I even tried doing outlines for just the characters. And I have come to one conclusion – I really suck at outlining my novel. Which is really frustrating since I can outline reference/text books with ease. Maybe I am too close to the material (since I wrote it), or maybe I just need to tank the whole outline my book idea.

I just feel stuck at the moment. I know I’ll get through it and at least during this time of being stuck I will not dispose of said novel. I will not dispose of my writing. I am going to dive back into the pages and rewrite (again, again, again) the words from only one character’s POV.  I am hoping it’ll give some fresh insight into why she is the way she is. The other tool I am employing is my story board. I hung up a big white board a couple of days ago. I dug out the colored white board markers and broke out a fresh eraser.

I am trusting myself to work on the book and not just draw funny pictures. But then again maybe I should just play around more and not be so serious about the book. Mayhaps play will bring in new ideas. Hmmmm I’ll let this play out and see what happens.

One thought on “Outline – the dreaded outline

  1. I’m interested to see how it goes with your storyboard…draw funny pictures if you like. Every writer has a system/way of getting into the right frame of mind before diving in. Just don’t waste too much time! I like your idea of only writing from the one character’s pov. It helped me to switch from one voice to another for the second half of my book. xx

Comments are closed.